The Tri-State Rugby Conference was first set-up in 2012-13 when USA Rugby encouraged universities and colleges to form conferences rather than remain part of their Local Area Unions (LAUs). The majority of the collegiate teams that comprised the Metropolitan New York Union became part of the Tri-State Collegiate Rugby Conference.

In 2016 the organization incorporated as a not-for-profit entity and a Board of Directors was set-up to run the conference.

As of August 2022 there are 6 Men’s Division II teams and 8 Men’s Division III teams. These teams have the opportunity to advance from the Conference and participate in post-season play against teams from other Conferences and continuing to a National Championship. There is a Division II pathway and two pathways for the Division III teams, one being a Cup and the other being the Challenger competition.  These championships are played in the Fall Season.

There are 17 women’s teams in the Tri-State Conference in 3 divisions (North, South & Central). All have the opportunity to advance in Fall Championships run by the Collegiate Rugby Association of America (CRAA) and fully sanctioned by USA Rugby.

Decisions regarding divisional alignment and the best competition format are discussed after each fall season at the Conference Annual General Meeting (AGM). Teams are required to send a representative to the AGM as decisions are made that pertain to all.